United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)


The UNECE is one of five Regional Economic Commissions of the United Nations. Apart from the countries of the European Union, its 56 Member States also include Eastern European and Central Asian countries such as Russia and Kazakhstan, as well as other countries outside Europe such as the USA, Canada and Israel.

Founded in 1947, UNECE initially supported the reconstruction of European economies and their economic relations, and for 40 years it remained a forum where the contrasting economic orders at the Iron Curtain reached a consensus.

Since then, UNECE has been continually adapting its work to the requirements of changing economic and political conditions in order to facilitate intergovernmental trade and cross-border economic relations. The focus now is on fostering the development of economic relations with the dynamically growing markets of Eastern Europe, but above all on setting international economic and technical norms and standards in numerous sectors such as business, transport, environment, but also construction, forestry and agriculture. A large part of the regulations drawn up by UNECE are incorporated into European law by the European Union. In addition, they are also repeatedly joined by Non-Members such as Japan, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and South Korea.

Related content

Top of page